RSS Feed

Booking Through Thursday: Vacation


btt button

Q:

Do your reading habits change when you’re on vacation? Do you read more? Do you indulge in lighter, fluffier books than you usually read? Do you save up special books so you’ll be able to spend real vacation time with them? Or do you just read the same old stuff, vacation or not?

A:

I always pack a book, or two, whenever I go on vacation, however, I never have time to read it!  When I’m vacationing with my family, there’s always something to do or something going on.  The time goes by so fast and before you know it, I’m on the plane going back home and haven’t even opened my book!

There are times however, when I vacation with calmer, less organized people, such as my sister and cousin or if it’s just my boyfriend and myself, then I will get some reading done.

I absolutely love reading on vacation.  I do usually tend to bring books I have been “saving” to read or I bring books that I have already read but are special to me in some way or another.  For example, every time I go to Florida, especially to the Keys, I must always bring my mermaid book which I bought in Key West when I was 15 years old and is very, very special to me.  That’s my Florida necessity.  Otherwise, any book I’ve been waiting to read goes with me on vacation.


About Palm Trees & Bare Feet

Travel. Animals. Writing. Photography. Books. Movies. Art. Creating. Dreaming. Thinking. Exploring. Adventure. Living.

5 responses »

  1. Yay! Someone else who doesn’t read much on vacation. I was starting to think I was the only one. It’s great that you take a special book away with you to Florida 🙂

    My BTT post is here if you’d like a look 🙂

    Reply
  2. I’d love to know more about the mermaid book. What a sweet memory to tie you to Florida.

    I read more on vacation. Here’s my answer! Vacation reading, and reading faster than my parents.

    Reply
  3. mermaid book in florida sounds like perfection!

    Trish – My BTT Post

    Reply
  4. Real vacation to me is without the kids, lol. With them reading doesn’t get done often.

    My BTT

    http://teawithmarce.blogspot.com/2011/10/booking-through-thursday-reading-habits.html

    Reply

Comments Welcome!

