RSS Feed

Booking Through Thursday: Hard


Booking Through Thursday

btt button

Q:

What’s the hardest/most challenging book you’ve ever read? Was it worth the effort? Did you read it by choice or was it an assignment/obligation?


A:

The most challenging reads for me were writings by none other than Shakespeare.

While one of my favorite high school classes was Brit Lit (not really because of the subject but more because my best friend was in it and because the teacher was awesome), I always struggled with understanding poems, stories and plays by Shakespeare.  Sometimes I felt like an idiot because I couldn’t understand where we were in the reading and what the hell was going on.  I especially felt stupid when dumb-as-a-rock jocks would understand what we were reading while me head swirled and my brain hurt.

Maybe it was the wording or the “words” – I swear he made up some words – he used, but whatever it was, we were forced to read it in school and I did not enjoy it.

Or, maybe, it’s not my fault at all that I can’t understand his writings, and it’s the fact that Shakespeare could have been a possible stoner and his words don’t make sense anyway!?

       Sonnets1609titlepage.jpg

About Palm Trees & Bare Feet

Travel. Animals. Writing. Photography. Books. Movies. Art. Creating. Dreaming. Thinking. Exploring. Adventure. Living.

4 responses »

  1. I agree! My favourite class has always been Brit Lit but when it came to reading poems and Shakespeare, I was at a loss. For me, poems are way worse than Shakespeare though. 🙂 If I concentrate hard enough, I do understand Shakespeare’s texts but when it comes to poems, I’m clueless.

    Here’s my BTT post 🙂
    Vicky @ Books, Biscuits & Tea

    Reply
  2. Ah yes Shakespeare. I think the fact that some hundred years have passed since he wrote the plays is often explanation enough, though 😉 I also remember one of my University teachers pointing out that the plays were meant to see on stage. Not to read in book-form.

    Reply
  3. Oh, I loved Shakespeare but not the sonnets… But I had a weird fascination with Old English at the time too… (and yes, I think he made up a few words here and there 😉 )

    Here’s my BTT – House Millar series

    Aine

    Reply

Comments Welcome!

