RSS Feed

Musing Monday: Reading Amount


Musing Mondays by: Should Be Reading

Q:

Would you say that you read about the same amount now as when you were younger? More? Less? Why?

A:

I always read a lot as a kid.  I remember devouring all of the Harry Potter books in days at the age of like 13 or so.  I grew up reading – and writing as a matter of fact as my first “book” I wrote was when I was 7 or so – and it was something that would occupy many nights and lazy afternoons.

However, once I reached 18 or so, reading kind of fell on the back burner of my priorities.  It’s true that I had a lot of things going on in my life – graduating high school, moving from the States to Spain, starting a whole new life in a foreign country – but that’s no excuse for me to have stopped reading!  It wasn’t until this past summer that I started reading heavily again, maybe even as much as I did as a kid.  What went from maybe 3 books a year during the ages of 18-20 to now a book a week at the age of 21, I have definitely gotten back into the “reading zone”, and I’m extremely happy I have!

🙂

About Palm Trees & Bare Feet

Travel. Animals. Writing. Photography. Books. Movies. Art. Creating. Dreaming. Thinking. Exploring. Adventure. Living.

6 responses »

  1. Like you, I read and wrote from a young age. I remember deciding to “rewrite” Frankenstein when I was 7-y-o. I don’t remember how far I got, but I had an entire jotter filled with it and it wasn’t completed!

    Here’s my Musing Mondays post. 🙂

    Reply
  2. I can not remember a time when I did not read and love reading! I have always been a reader and hopefully, always will be!

    Reply
  3. I always loved books even as a kid, but I read much more now than I did when I was younger. 🙂
    Here’s my Musing Mondays post
    Happy Halloween!
    Vicky
    Books, Biscuits & Tea

    Reply
  4. I went through the same thing, giving up reading for awhile when I had too much going on! Here’s mine: http://sheenathebookgeek.blogspot.com/2011/10/musing-mondays_31.html

    Reply
  5. Wow, you’ve been on quite an adventure moving out of the country! I don’t blame you for putting a hold on reading…

    *New Follower*

    Thanks for stoppin’ by!

    Happy Reading 🙂

    Reply

Comments Welcome!

