RSS Feed

I Have Emerged from My Writing Corner


Today is the first day I haven’t spent the day writing.

While I usually spend hours and hours on the computer, in my little corner of the house, today instead I decided I needed some fresh air.  So the boyfriend and I decided to leave the house – no, the sun did not melt us – and we took the metro and train into Madrid for a little “date day”.  

It was nice.  I hadn’t been to Madrid since I arrived back in Spain in the middle of October, so I forgot how much I missed riding the train there (much better than the metro) and walking around Madrid.  

We went to Castellana, where Real Madrid’s stadium, Bernabeu, is located.  

It’s a very nice district, known for the widest street (driving street) in Madrid and for the Torre Picasso (Picasso Tower).

We lunched at our favorite Italian restaurant, Da Nicola, and then went over to Canoe, a Bingo hall.  We have a strange obsession with Bingo – yes we know we’re usually the youngest there – and today, we spent 20 Euros and walked out with nada.  But it was fun!  🙂

When we arrived home, I ran to turn on my computer and began writing.

So far, I have written about 500 words today, and do not plan on stopping.  I would like to write my usual 2,000 by the end of the night, and get my total word count past 10K.

So, while I’m taking a break (again) from writing at the moment to update my blog, I thought I’d share a little excerpt from what I have written today.  It’s just a teaser and of course, I accept critique.

So here it is and I hope you all have a great rest of the weekend and don’t worry, it’s OK to take a break from NaNo every once in a while.  🙂

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

If you can do that for me, remember me how you see me, not read me, then I thank you for that.  I thank you for taking the time to watch my life, and to read my sorrows.  I hope that you, my reader, will never experience what you are about to read from me, what I am experiencing as I write this.  I also hope that we will never meet, because if we do, that means that you are here during this horrible time, a time I hope is long gone when you exist.

So, I bury this journal and this camera, and I will come every night to update my writings, to continue this horrible tale, and rebury it before the sun shines, before day breaks.  And when the writings stop, and you are left with only blank pages and old images of my past, then you must know that I have shared all there is for me and my time on earth.

Now, shall we begin?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

*Note: The words and photo above are my own: © Kalie Lyn, 2011.

About Palm Trees & Bare Feet

Travel. Animals. Writing. Photography. Books. Movies. Art. Creating. Dreaming. Thinking. Exploring. Adventure. Living.

Comments Welcome!

