RSS Feed

Booking Through Thursday: E-Volution


Booking Through Thursday by Booking Through Thursday

btt button

Q:

E-readers like the Kindle and iPad are sweeping the nation … do you have one? Do you like it? Do you find it changes your reading/buying habits? If you don’t have one, do you plan to?

A:

I do have an E-Reader.  It’s a Sony one, nothing special, but I received it as a present from my mommy for Christmas 2 years ago.

I do like it.  It’s easy to carry in my purse, I can have many books on hand at a time, and it makes for reading in the metro and train a whole lot easier.

My reading habits haven’t changed.   I actually haven’t really been using my E-Reader a whole lot lately.  I will probably use it more once school begins, but for now I’ve been reading good ol’ regular books.  When I am using my E-Reader, while it is easier to carry along, I do miss “real” books.  I miss holding them in my hands, turning the pages, and the smell of an old book.  These things I do miss.

I do recommend that everyone buy an E-Reader for travel and convenience.  However, for me, an E-Reader will never take the place of a favorite paperback or hardcover.


About Palm Trees & Bare Feet

Travel. Animals. Writing. Photography. Books. Movies. Art. Creating. Dreaming. Thinking. Exploring. Adventure. Living.

16 responses »

  1. I love real books as well, but I think an e-reader must be rather handy too!

    Here’s my Booking Through Thursday post. 🙂

    Reply
  2. I’ve been having this debate with friends for a while. I haven’t taken the plunge yet and bought any kind of Kindle or E-Reader yet, but friends who have, really like them.

    I can completely see the lure of these, it’s like an Ipod for your music, but for your books. Maybe I will get one one day, but for now I’m enjoying my books. Maybe if I ever get to go on holiday I might invest in one! 😛

    Really informative post, thanks!

    Reply
    • I still love books but an E-reader really is helpful!

      Thanks for your comment Beth! I really do love your blog! 🙂

      Reply
      • Yes, that’s what most of my friends have said… hmm maybe I’ll have to give one a go…

        You’re very welcome and thank you! 🙂 (Oh no! I don’t know your actual name that isn’t palm tree related! I’m really sorry! How terrible of me 😦 )

      • Haha, don’t worry. It’s Kalie 🙂

        And your “Written in Pencil” sounds very interesting! I’m excited to see how it turns out! 🙂

      • Haha! Hello Kalie! 🙂

        Ah yes, I do have you on Nano! Silly me. Just read over your novel excerpt again! Looking good! What does the name mean?

      • “Sonrisa” stands for “smile” in Spanish. But that’s just the working title for now. I still need to come up with a real one. It’s always the hardest part for me!

        What’s been your hardest part with writing your story? Besides the title, dialogue has been pretty hard as I’m trying to write it as naturally as it would be said.

      • Ah, I getcha! 🙂 Well I’m not too bad with them as I copywrite for a living, so I think mine fits quite well (I hope!)

        Ermm, I think mine has been writing chronologically! I just can’t do it. I’ve done some of the end, some of the middle and beginning! Haha! I’m also worried I’m going to finish my story before 50,000 words! Eep! Ah, I just try and type it exactly how I would say it (if possible) and then add in bits around the dialogue to bring it to life!

      • That is very hard for me too! I’m currently not writing in order either so my story is all over the place and my brain is having trouble sorting everything out.

        Ahhh, the life of a writer! Haha. 🙂

      • Well, I’m glad someone else is doing the same! I thought I was a bit odd.. Do you feel like you’ve got enough in you for 50,000?

      • A lot of people I’ve been talking to in my NaNo group are also writing out of order. So we’re not weird! 🙂

        And I didn’t think I had enough at first, but now I’m starting to think I do because I’m only on the second chapter and have written 20K words already and still have half of the story to tell! Haha.

  3. I esp. love the Nook for the convenience of traveling and not having to carry several books on vacation. I don’t think it will ever take the place of “real” books for me though. Here’s my BTT.

    Reply
  4. I agree! Books with always come before the e-reader, but the e-reader can be more convenient at times!

    Here’s my answer – http://eatupmyfreetime.wordpress.com/2011/11/10/e-volution/

    Reply

Comments Welcome!

