RSS Feed

Now That’s A Lot of Bebés!


Yes, I’ll admit it: I’m a slight celebrity gossip junkie.  My guilty pleasure is reading People.com and seeing what’s going on in the celebrity world.  However, that was until I discovered PeoplePets.com.  Now, I’m a pet gossip junkie, if that’s even possible.

One of the photo slides I found today on PeoplePets.com was called “Doggie Duggars” and it featured the world’s biggest litters of puppies.  It’s amazing how many puppies can actually come from one litter and I thought I would share with you some of the biggest puppy litters from the article.

Button the Dalmation – Liter Count: 33

Tia the Blue Mastiff – Litter Count: 24

Dixie the American Pit Bull – Litter Count: 20

Ariel the Leonberger – Litter Count: 18

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

These are just some of the world’s biggest litters.  Check out the full article to see more pictures and to hear about each dog’s story at: Doggie Duggars!  World’s Most Massive Litters 

While I am sharing these pictures and this article, and while looking at baby puppies (or anything baby) is so adorable, I am still in support for always spaying and neutering your pets.

Besides the overpopulation of dogs and cats – the fact that many are homeless, roaming the streets, and thousands are being killed because there are not enough homes for the animal’s rising population – there are many other benefits to spaying and neutering your pets.

Here are some of them:

1)  50% of dogs and 90% of cats will die if they get breast cancer (yes, even animals can get breast cancer too).  Spaying helps prevent breast cancer and uterine infections, which will help your female pet live a longer and healthier life.

2)  Neutering helps your male pet too by helping to prevent testicular cancer.  Plus, a neutered male dog will not run away in search of a mate, he will not spray in the house, and he will overall be better behaved.

3)  For the pet owners, spaying and neutering your pet is also very cost-effective.  The price of getting your pet fixed is a lot less than the price you would be paying if your pet were to have a litter.  Imagine how much money and work would be needed if your pet had a litter as big as the ones above!

These are just 3 of the many reasons why you should spay and neuter your pet.  Check out the full 10 reasons to spay and neuter your pet on the ASPCA website here.

Remember, there are animals dying out there because they can not find homes.  Prevent the overpopulation, which eventually leads to millions of dogs and cats dying every year, by spaying and neutering your pet.  Plus, your pet will thank you by leading a longer and healthier life!

🙂

*Note: Click on the links above to check out the full articles and to check my sources.  The pictures above were taken from the article featured on peoplepets.com.  The thoughts and wording in this blog post is my own: © Kalie Lyn, 2011.*

About Palm Trees & Bare Feet

Travel. Animals. Writing. Photography. Books. Movies. Art. Creating. Dreaming. Thinking. Exploring. Adventure. Living.

13 responses »

  1. The first thought I had was I wonder how many of those puppies will end up being unwanted. People assume unwanted dogs are mutts, but many pure-bred dogs are surrendered. They’re too big, eat too much, too active, too scary to the neighbors, etc.

    Great post!

    Reply
    • You’re right. People think that they can only adopt mutts from shelters so they either buy from a breeder, which means the breeder will keep breeding causing more puppies, or they buy from a pet shop, which means many unwanted pets will go without homes. Were you a shelter dog Rumpy? And you’re a pure-bred, right?

      Thanks for looking and your comment! 🙂

      Reply
  2. WOW! I’m amazed!! That is a lot of puppies!! So sweet =]

    Reply
  3. I agree with you, the puppies are adorable. But it is important to remember that pet owners should be responsible. Both of my boys, one dog and one cat, are neutered. Thanks for sharing the photos and the words of caution.

    Reply
    • What are your pet’s names? I have always grown up with animals and I learned that you should spay and neuter them from my mother, whom is a real animal lover.

      Thanks for reading and for your comment! 🙂

      Reply
      • My dog is named Miles and my cat is Atticus. I’m not sure who taught me how to be a responsible pet owner, but my animals have always been either spayed or neutered.

      • Awww! I had a stuffed animal named Atticus as a kid, and I love the name Miles! What kind are they? My family has always had Boxers for dogs, with the exception of a Golden Retriever and a current Mutt and Great Pyrenees. Cats though, I can never tell the different breeds. Haha.

        I’m glad you are a fellow animal lover! 🙂

  4. Miles is a Boston Terrier and Atticus is a stray cat that adopted me. None of the vets have been able to tell what kind of cat he is. But I think he’s absolutely amazing. I have always been an animal lover.

    Reply
  5. I am always in favor of “adopting” a dog or a puppy, or a cat or kitten! I would never buy a dog or cat from a pet store (puppy mills).
    We have adopted 4 dogs (3 boxers and 1 golden) and all of them were fantastic pets, and part of the family. We’ve also adopted 5 cats over the years. The joy and unconditional love animals give to people is amazing. They are truly a blessing!

    Reply
  6. Great Post! I couldn’t agree more with you, I think spaying and neutering you dog or cat is very important for the lives of your animals. Adopting is a great way to go too, saving the lives of homeless dogs and cats.

    Reply

Comments Welcome!

