RSS Feed

Because We All Need Some Inspiration


I have been losing my motivation and inspiration to finish my NaNo novel.  All weekend, I barely wrote 1,000 words, and now that it’s Monday once again, I need to get crackin’ and caught up.

But what if I don’t feel like it?  What if I would rather spend this rainy Spain day watching a movie or a TV show instead?  What if my inspiration is gone and I have no more ideas to spill onto the word document I call a novel?

Well, tough.  That’s life.  I must continue on with or without my inspiration and motivation.  I must plow through my daily required 1,682 words and then some.  I must sit myself down, turn off my internet, and just write.

I know distracting myself by making this blog post isn’t helping my word count or my point, but it must be done.  This blog post is for myself, and for all of you behind, unmotivated NaNo-ers out there who need a little inspiration pick-me-up.

So without much further adieu, here are some of my favorite and inspirational quotes on writing.  Because without other writer’s advice and motivation, we will never get anything done.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Even in literature and art, no man who bothers about originality will ever be original: whereas if you simply try to tell the truth (without caring twopence how often it has been told before) you will, nine times out of ten, become original without ever having noticed it. ~ C.S. Lewis.

Better to write for yourself and have no public, than to write for the public and have no self. ~ Cyril Connolly.

Beneath the rule of men entirely great,
The pen is mightier than the sword.
 ~ Edward Bulwer Lytton.

The skill of writing is to create a context in which other people can think. ~ Edwin Schlossberg.

Keep writing. Keep doing it and doing it. Even in the moments when it’s so hurtful to think about writing. ~ Heather Armstrong.

The way you define yourself as a writer is that you write every time you have a free minute. If you didn’t behave that way you would never do anything. ~ John Irving.

A writer is a writer not because she writes well and easily, because she has amazing talent, because everything she does is golden. In my view, a writer is a writer because even when there is no hope, even when nothing you do shows any sign of promise, you keep writing anyway. ~ Junot Diaz.

The only reason for being a professional writer is that you can’t help it. ~ Leo Rosten.

And my favorite and what is currently my desktop background:

“You can’t wait for inspiration, you have to go after it with a club.” ~ Jack London.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Happy 3rd Week NaNo-ers!  

🙂

About Palm Trees & Bare Feet

Travel. Animals. Writing. Photography. Books. Movies. Art. Creating. Dreaming. Thinking. Exploring. Adventure. Living.

5 responses »

  1. Excellent. When stuck, try the creative writing technique of placing a subject in the center of a blank piece of paper, circle it, and then diagram from it. For instance, write the word Husband. Circle it. Draw a line from it and put something related to it in another circle. You might put the words, loves animals. A line and circle from that might lead to dogs. This is a good way to develop characters and plots. You will be amazed at what you have created by the time your paper is full. You can write the entire outline of a novel by using this technique. Don’t restrict yourself to what you think should go in a circle. Put everything in a circle that comes to mind.

    Reply
  2. get back to work on that novel how can I expect to be writing if you’re not. geeze

    Oh if you’re bored with the writing of your book… you ran out of conflicts. put ’em in and then let those characters fight it out.

    Reply
  3. Very inspirational indeed 🙂

    Reply

Comments Welcome!

