RSS Feed

Musing Monday: Collecting by Authors


Musing Mondays by: Should Be Reading

Q:

Are you currently collecting any authors? Why? 
Do you have all of their books? If not, why not? 
Did you buy all the books in the collection at the same time, or did you buy a book here, a book there? Have you actually read all of the collection? If not, why not?


A:

I don’t really collect by author.  Yes, I have my favorite authors, and yes, if I see a book by my favorite author I will probably buy it, however, I don’t just seek out books by authors I like.

I think I seek out books more by series and by genre/interest.  So of course, I have the complete series of Harry Potter, which I guess, could be considered a collection of J.K. Rowling.  However, I collected all of the Harry Potter books because A) they are a series and B) because they are my favorite books; not because of Rowling.

I also love non-fiction, so I will buy books based on interests and genres I like.  Many authors focus on one genre so it’s not uncommon that if I find a book I like about animals, and I look for another book about animals, sometimes I will find another book by the same author.  And I will buy it not because of the author, but because of my interest in the book’s subject matter and genre.

One of my favorite authors at the moment is Wade Rouse.  I fell in love with him by reading his book, At Least in the City Someone Would Hear Me Scream, and after that book, I discovered more of his books and have about 3 of Wade’s books at the moment, waiting to be read.  But I just found these other books, I did not seek them or his books out.

Overall, I do not consciously seek out books because of their authors.  I do not collect books because of the authors.  I think I have more favorite books than I do favorite authors.  And honestly, sometimes I do not like to read another book by an author I enjoyed because I feel that maybe the next book will ruin the author for me.  So I just stick to books, not authors.

About Palm Trees & Bare Feet

Travel. Animals. Writing. Photography. Books. Movies. Art. Creating. Dreaming. Thinking. Exploring. Adventure. Living.

5 responses »

  1. I think I also have more favourite books than authors, though I do love collecting the books by my favourite authors. I love non-fiction, too–especially animals. I have a ton of dog books!

    Reply
  2. Thanks for stopping by my blog 🙂

    When I was a kid I read every single book I could find on animals in our school library. So I ended up reading a lot of books by the same authors…I discovered Jack London that way because of Call of the Wild! 🙂

    Reply
  3. Couldn’t agree more! And I also have all the Harry Potter-books. Because they’re so good! 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!

    Reply

Comments Welcome!

