RSS Feed

A Kitten or a Baby Crying: Your Choice


At the beginning of NaNo, I spent $10 on Write or Die, the software that punishes you with annoying sounds if you don’t write.  People in my NaNo Facebook group were raving about Write or Die, and how it was thanks to that software for their incredibly, almost impossible, high word counts.  

So, I bought it.

I have used it a few times, typing at a constant speed so a baby’s crying voice, an annoying car horn, or a screechy violin does not erupt from my speakers, making me cringe.  While I do have to say that it does help me reach my word count goal – mostly due to the fact that if I don’t, I will get punished – I also have to say that I do not think Write or Die was worth the ten bucks I paid, especially because I just figured out, when I was finding the link for above, that there is a free online edition.  CRAP!

*Sigh*

Well, anyway, the whole point of this post is to introduce a different, totally free software to all of you that was created by someone named Alex “Skud” Bayley and this Skud’s roommate, Emily.  And instead of being bombarded by annoying noises when you don’t write, this new software rewards you for when you do write a certain number of words.  And what is that reward?  A kitten!  

Well, at least it’s a picture of a kitten from Flickr.

 written kitten screenshot

And this little gem is called Written? Kitten!, and while I did pay $10 for my Write or Die software, I think I’m going to ditch the punishment for a day and try out this new rewarding writing tool.  I’m interested to see the variety of kitten pictures after I reach every 100, 200, 500 or 1000 words (user’s choice in word preference).  So it should be fun, and rewarding for a change!

Check out each writing tool, with the links above, to see for yourself which is more helpful.  Oh, and so you don’t do like I did, and pay money on something that is offered for free online, here is the link for the free web app.

Happy Writing to All of You!  

🙂

About Palm Trees & Bare Feet

Travel. Animals. Writing. Photography. Books. Movies. Art. Creating. Dreaming. Thinking. Exploring. Adventure. Living.

Comments Welcome!

