RSS Feed

Why Do You Do What You Do?


“Why do you write?” they ask.

Why do I write?  That’s like asking a world traveler why they travel – because they were born to experience other cultures and see the world.  That’s like asking a photographer why they take pictures – because they were born to capture that one moment in time and make it last forever.  That’s like asking a veterinarian why they help animals – because they were born an animal lover and they grew up wanting to help them.

I write because I was born to write.

Every since I was younger I wrote.  My first “book”, at the age of 7 or so, was my own story based off of the board game Clue.  The final manuscript, and I still have it today, was ten pages stapled together of misspelled words and terrible drawings.  I then went on to write more stories – ones with correct spelling and no drawings – and have not stopped writing since.

It truly is my only natural talent.  I feel that I was literally born to write.  I have quite a vivid imagination and stories to tell, and whether I am writing book reviews, essays for school, a travel article, or a NaNo novel, I just plain and simply love it.

“So why do you write?” they persist.

I write to ignite imagination.

“Imagination is the one weapon in the war against reality” ~ Jules de Gaultier

I write so I can learn.

The best way to become acquainted with a subject is to write a book about it.” ~ Benjamin Disraeli.

I write to create new and unique worlds, times, people and places.

Words, once they are printed, have a life of their own.” ~ Carol Burnett.

I write because I have a story to tell.  Even if it’s only for myself.

I never feel that I have comprehended an emotion, or fully lived even the smallest events, until I have reflected upon it in my journal; my pen is my truest confidant, holding in check the passions and disappointments that I dare not share even with my beloved.” ~ Stephanie Barron.

I write because I was born to write.

The only reason for being a professional writer is that you can’t help it.” ~ Leo Rosten.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Whether it’s writing, painting, healing, helping, or anything else, why do you do what you do?

About Palm Trees & Bare Feet

Travel. Animals. Writing. Photography. Books. Movies. Art. Creating. Dreaming. Thinking. Exploring. Adventure. Living.

2 responses »

  1. I love this! And I love all the quotes, especially Disraeli’s quote. I’ve also heard, you never really know a subject until you teach it. Keep on writing!

    Reply
    • Thank you! And, that’s true too! I taught English as a second language here in Madrid, Spain and I never realized how difficult and how much work it is until I actually tried teaching it to my students! Haha.

      Thanks for your comment! 🙂

      Reply

Comments Welcome!

