RSS Feed

Musing Monday: Reading New Authors


Musing Mondays by: Should Be Reading

Q:

How do you decide to read a book by an author you haven’t read before? What sort of recommendations count most highly in making that decision?


A:

I love discovering new authors.  I have had many favorite authors over the years mostly because I just can’t choose one favorite.

Usually, for me, I read based on the book not the author.  If the cover grabs my attention, or the title pops out at me, or if it is about a subject I am interested in, then I will pick it up.  If I pick it up, then I will read the synopsis on the back.  If I like the synopsis, I will page through the book and maybe read a page or two (never the last page of course).  And then, after that entire process, and if I really want/can afford/like the book, then I will buy it.  If you haven’t noticed, my “book searching process” has nothing to do with the author.

Of course, if I am looking for a particular author, then the process will involve the author.  However, most times, it’s whether or not I want to read the book, and it has nothing to do with the author; I am always up for reading a different, unheard of author’s book, and a lot of times, I fall in love with their books and I continue to read more of theirs, hence I discover a new favorite author.

I have just discovered Goodreads, and based on their recommendations, I have found many a book that I have added to my TBR list.  I also trust my mother’s recommendations (since we love the same kind of books) and other than that, I search for books on my own, whether at the book store or through Amazon.

About Palm Trees & Bare Feet

Travel. Animals. Writing. Photography. Books. Movies. Art. Creating. Dreaming. Thinking. Exploring. Adventure. Living.

4 responses »

  1. Agreed, it’s a lot about the book for me too – I like to go book browsing and if a cover catches my eye I’ll read the synopsis. I do use recommendations, but most new authors are just randomly chosen.

    Reply
  2. I mainly use Goodreads to see what people are generally saying about a book.

    Reply
  3. I’m with you – it’s more about the story than the author for me. I love Goodreads!

    Reply
  4. Hello! Thanks for visiting my blog!

    Nice answer. You are a more adventurous reader than I am. 🙂

    Reply

Comments Welcome!

