RSS Feed

My Nostalgia Movie Collection


Last night, the Boyfriend and I were talking about movies we used to watch and love as a kid.  Since he is much older than I (8 years difference to be exact), we loved and watched different movies growing up.

We have both decided to make a collection of our favorite movies we watched growing up.  It was quite fun reminicing and thinking about all the movies that made me giggle, cry, and excite my imagination as a child.

While the Boyfriend had a list full of action, adventure, and Power Ranger movies, I had a list that is full of Disney.

Here is my list of my Nostalgia Movie Collection (by year):

Disney Movies:

1937: Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs  Oh, those little creepy dwarfs, the murder plotting queen, and the innocent naive Snow White.  Nothing better as a kid!

Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs (Walt Disney's Masterpiece) [VHS]

1940: Pinocchio  Talking puppet, a whistling cricket, and a man swallowing whale.  Good stuff!

Pinocchio (Disney Gold Classic Collection)

1940: Fantasia  My favorite were the dancing hippos.

Fantasia (Special 60th Anniversary Edition)

1941: Dumbo  A flying elephant.  Nothing more realistic than that.

1942: Bambi  Probably the reason why I’m against hunting.

Bambi (Fully Restored 55th Anniversary Limited Edition) (Walt Disney's Masterpiece) [VHS]

1950: Cinderella  I was quite pissed off when my Fairy Godmother never appeared.

Cinderella (Walt Disney's Masterpiece) [VHS]

1951: Alice in Wonderland  Oh, all those drug innuendos.

Alice in Wonderland (Disney Gold Classic Collection)

1953: Peter Pan  One of my favorites, I still want to fly off to Neverland and never grow up!

[VHS]Peter Pan(Fully Restored 45th Anniversary Limited Edition) (Walt Disney Masterpiece Collection) [VHS]

1955: Lady and the Tramp  The good ol’ days when “tramp” wasn’t a mean name for a woman.

Lady and the Tramp [VHS]

1959: Sleeping Beauty  No, you will not awake from death by being kissed by a prince, or any guy for that matter.

Sleeping Beauty (Fully Restored Limited Edition) (Walt Disney's Masterpiece)  [VHS]

1961: 101 Dalmatians  Cruella de Vil scared the crap out of me.

101 Dalmatians [VHS]

1964: Mary Poppins  Julie Andrews and Dick Van Dyke were so meant to be with one another.

Mary Poppins (Gold Collection)

1967: The Jungle Book  I might have had a crush on the animated Mowgli.

The Jungle Book (Limited Issue)

1970: The Aristocats  The only thing I remember about this movie is that the tomcat was kick-ass.

1973: Robin Hood  Haven’t seen this movie in a long time, but I know I always enjoyed it.

1977: Pete’s Dragon  Oh my god.  This movie I both LOVED and was freaked out by.

1981: The Fox and the Hound  Still, to this day, I cannot get through this movie without crying through half of it.

1988: Oliver and Company  All I remember is that I was jealous of Jenny for having the cutest little kitten ever.

1989: Honey I Shrunk the Kids  Hence my love of things that are small when they are supposed to be big, and vice versa.

1989: The Little Mermaid  Actually, my obsession with mermaids happened before I ever watched this movie, but watching it did not take my obsession away!

The Little Mermaid (Fully Restored Special Edition) [VHS]

1991: Beauty and the Beast  I loved the singing and dancing tableware.

Beauty and the Beast (Two-Disc Platinum Edition)

1992: Aladdin  Jasmine was one of my favorite Disney princesses.  Plus, Robin Williams was AMAZING as Genie.

Aladdin [VHS]

1993: Homeward Bound – LOVED, and still LOVE, this movie.  I even created imaginary friends with the names Chance, Shadow and Sassy!

1994: Lion King – Always and forever my number one animated Disney love.  Hakuna Matata!

1995: Pocahontas  Come on, Pocahontas was a kick-ass, beautiful Native American.  Plus, the talking Willow was pretty cool.

Pocahontas (Walt Disney's Masterpiece) [VHS]

1995: Toy Story It’s no wonder this script is taught in film school.  It’s AMAZING.

1996: The Hunchback of Notre Dame  Learned about Gypsies through this movie.

1997: Hercules  My love of Greek mythology began here.

1997: George of the Jungle  Only know of Brendan Fraser from this movie.

1998: Mulan  I don’t care what people say, I LOVED Mulan!

Mulan (Disney Gold Classic Collection)

1998: A Bug’s Life  Much better than “Antz”.

1999: Tarzan – Haven’t watched this movie in forever, but animated Tarzan was pretty sexy.

And then the 2000’s hit, and except for a select few – Monsters, Inc., Finding Nemo,  and Wall-E – Disney was never the same as before.

So, here is my list of my favorite movies I watched growing up.  These were some important movies to me, and I plan to re-build my collection and pass them down for my kids to enjoy.

What were some of your favorite movies growing up?  Tell us in the comment section below!

🙂

About Palm Trees & Bare Feet

Travel. Animals. Writing. Photography. Books. Movies. Art. Creating. Dreaming. Thinking. Exploring. Adventure. Living.

16 responses »

  1. Awww. Good old days!

    I’m thinking of watching these movies again, at my spare time. This is a great list.
    I just remembered my dear sissy who passed away almost a year ago, who loves Disney movies like The Fox and the Hound, Dumbo ,Lion King, Toy Story, Lady and the Tramp, among others.

    I am liking your blog now 😀
    Keep it up!

    Reply
  2. PETE’s DRAGON……wow! i didnt know anyone else liked that movie. It sure brings back memories…..

    even the song…. “A Dragon, a dragon, i saw, i saw a dragon….” It was a VCR Tape. Now i am going to search for a DVD of that….

    Thanks. memories are like lost toys. The joy of finding it is simply incomparable.

    Cheers!

    Reply
  3. fromsusanwithlove

    Wow! Pretty much the same as you! Disney = Classic! And after the digital computer generated graphics started Disney never really was the same but Monsters, Inc and Wall-E are pretty wonderful. I have most of these on DVD and keep updating my VHS’ with all the new editions that Disney has been releasing. I actually just watched Robin Hood and Pete’s Dragon the other night. (Fun fact: Mickey Mouse – named after Mickey Rooney)

    Reply
    • Wow! Is that true?! Mickey Mouse was named after Mickey Rooney?! Hmmm…that is a fun fact!

      And I can not wait to update my collection! And don’t you just love Pete’s Dragon?!

      Thank you for your comment, Susan! 🙂

      Reply
  4. A great selection of movies! I wanted to let you know that I nominated your blog for the Liebster Award:

    http://50yearproject.wordpress.com/2011/11/22/the-liebster-blog-award/

    Reply
  5. I just found your blog on freshly pressed, congratulations! Great list! I think I must be a bit older, many of these films I have watched with my daughters. I loved Bambi and Sleeping Beauty, but also remember really liking Return From Witch Mountain, and Escape From Witch Mountain. I haven’t seen them since and I just googled them to see if my memory was correct on the titles. Not sure if they were popular, but they stuck in my head.

    Another favourite was the Rescuers, and I loved Puff the Magic Dragon, but wasn’t it kind of sad?

    Thanks for the memories!

    Reply
  6. I have pretty much the same list of favorites as you except for a few movies. Have you seen “The land before time?”. I cried when I was a child while watching that and Bambi. haha

    Reply
  7. Pingback: *Evil laugh* | Janie has a blog

  8. Pingback: The Never Ending Story [Movie Review] | Palm Trees & Bare Feet

Comments Welcome!

