RSS Feed

Friday Finds: Animal Stories Galore


Friday Finds by Should Be Reading

What great books did you hear about/discover this past week?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Babylon's Ark: The Incredible Wartime Rescue of the Baghdad Zoo

Babylon’s Ark: The Incredible Wartime Rescue of the Baghdad Zoo by Lawrence Anthony

This book gave me goose bumps by just discovering it.  A story about Iraqis and Americans coming together during war and fighting, all for the sake of animals.  I know this book is going to be sad, I know this book is going to make me want to adopt every single animal I see, but I am so ready to read this book and so excited that I have found it.  Plus, I just found other books by Lawrence Anthony and they all deal with him helping animals. So yes, he may just become a new favorite author and person.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

In the Shadow of Man

In the Shadow of Man by Jane Goodall

If you didn’t know already, Jane Goodall is one of my heroes.  She’s a strong willed, caring, intelligent and lovely woman who was a woman pioneer in her field of research.  Hence, my excitement when I was going through her books and found this one.  This book documents her early days at Gombe Stream Reserve and the love she formed with the chimps.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Gorillas in the Mist

Gorillas in the Mist by Dian Fossey

Another one of my heroes, I came to admire Dian Fossey after reading her biography, Woman in the Mist.  I am very excited to finally read her account of everything that happened with the gorillas, and to meet her beloved Digit (a gorilla) through her eyes.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Yes, I may be an animal story spaz, but I would rather read these kinds of books – books where I feel emotion and a certain closeness to the subjects – 10X more than I would want to read Twilight or books like that.  

So these are my Friday Finds and I’m very excited to embark on the adventures these books will take me on!

Have a Great Weekend All! 

🙂

About Palm Trees & Bare Feet

Travel. Animals. Writing. Photography. Books. Movies. Art. Creating. Dreaming. Thinking. Exploring. Adventure. Living.

2 responses »

  1. I loved Gorillas in the MIst. The other two look interesting and I will be putting on my Wishlist.

    I also love to read Books about Animals and the fight to keep them in their natural enviroment and the study of them. Can’t wait for the reviews.

    Would love to hear your recommendations in the future.

    CW

    Will be following/ subscribing to your blog 🙂

    Reply
    • Yay! I’m so glad that I found another animal story lover! 🙂

      So you read Gorillas in the Mist? How was it? And did you read Woman in the Mist? That one was absolutely fascinating. Poor Dian had such a hard life in Africa with the people and the government, and yet her Gorillas always came first to her, no matter what.

      Thank you for your comment! 🙂

      Reply

Comments Welcome!

