RSS Feed

A Simple Ghost Town Obsession


I have this weird obsession with ghost towns.  I don’t know if it’s the fact that it would be incredible to explore an abandoned city that once had a bustling life, or having the option to wander the town and create a story in my head of what happened to the city and what it used to be like.  Either way, I plan on visiting ghost towns around the world.

So, when I discovered The World’s Ten Creepiest Abandoned Cities article on Gadling.com, I was hypnotized by the photos and the fact that these towns are out there for me to explore!

abandoned cities

Location: Pripyat, Ukraine

Abandoned Since: 1986

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

abandoned cities

Location: Sanzhi district, New Taipei, Taiwan

Abandoned Since: 1980

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Location: Craco, Basilicata, Italy

Abandoned Since: 1963

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

abandoned cities

Location: Kolmanskop, Namibia

Abandoned Since: 1954

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

abandoned cities

Location: Hashima Island, Nagasaki, Japan

Abandoned Since: 1974

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

abandoned cities

Location: Oradour-sur-Glane, Limousin, France

Abandoned Since: 1944

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

abandoned cities

Location: Centralia, Pennsylvania, United States

Abandoned Since: It is still occupied by 10 or so people

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Location: Northern Atacama desert, Chile

Abandoned Since: 1960

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Location: Bodie, California, United States

Abandoned Since: 1942

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Location: Kayaköy, Muğla, Turkey

Abandoned Since: 1923

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Even just seeing these pictures ignites an odd sense of yearning in me to visit these 10 ghost towns.  The history, while short lived, of each city is quite interesting and intriguing.  

To view the full article and to read what happened to each town, and its abandonment, click on the link above.

This is my weird travel obsession.  Do you have any odd travel obsessions?  Any places that you would like to visit but other people would think you were crazy for going?  Tell us in the comment section below!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

*Note: Check out the links above for more info.  These pictures were taken from gadling.com.  Their © belongs to their photographers.*

About Palm Trees & Bare Feet

Travel. Animals. Writing. Photography. Books. Movies. Art. Creating. Dreaming. Thinking. Exploring. Adventure. Living.

7 responses »

  1. Amazing photos. It would be fun to visit. I wonder if you go if you will run into Scooby Doo. I used to love that cartoon.

    Reply
    • Haha! Maybe?!

      Isn’t the first picture amazing?! These pictures just make me want to go more!

      Do you have an odd travel obsession, TBM?

      Reply
      • I do want to visit all of the homes of all the American Presidents someday. I’m a history and political science nerd. A lot of people think I’m crazy since I want to travel so much.

      • Oh, that would be interesting! I too enjoy learning about history, especially in places that have such a rich culture. I always want to know and understand how they came up with their traditions and why they are the way they are.

        And there’s nothing wrong with traveling! It expands your mind and imagination. I just love it!
        🙂

  2. I don’t think you are weird. I like abandoned towns too.

    Reply

Comments Welcome!

