RSS Feed

Top Ten Tuesday: Books on my Winter TBR List


Top Ten by The Broke and the Bookish

Top 10 Books on My Winter TBR List:

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

My TBR list has been overflowing since I started NaNo.  Now that I have finally reached the 50K, it’s time to get back into the reading game.  I bought some very good books before Borders (RIP) closed and before I left the States, so I am excited to dive into some of those, along with new ones I just HAVE to read.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Born Free by Joy Adamson – I know of Joy Adamson because of the book: A Lion Called Christian, in which Joy and her husband, George, were the ones to rehabilitate Christian.  When I found Born Free during the closing sale of Borders, I just had to get it, and now I look forward to reading another one of Joy Adamson’s exciting adventures with lions.

Born Free: A Lioness of Two Worlds (Story of Elsa, #1)

In the Shadow of Man by Jane Goodall – Yes, Jane Goodall is a hero of mine, so when I found this book that talks about her early days when Louis Leaky discovered her and she began her adventures with chimps, I just had to get it!  Now, I just have to read it!

In the Shadow of Man

Hope for Animals and Their World by Jane Goodall – Yep, another Jane Goodall book, however, this one is about all animals.  Jane Goodall talks about the endangered species, the environment and how it’s affecting us all, and positive approaches to protecting animals and our world.  This is one I can not wait to read!

Three Cups of Tea by Greg MortensonYes, I have heard that the author fabricated the story, much like another one of my favorite books: A Million Little Pieces, however, I have wanted to read this book for awhile.  And if it really isn’t true, then I’ll just read it like it’s an amazing fiction story!

Heat and Light by Mike Wallace – I bought this book because I plan on going into journalism, and Heat and Light is all about “advice for the next generation of journalists”.  It actually looks pretty good and informative so I’m excited to read it!

Heat and Light: Advice for the Next Generation of Journalists

First Comes Love, Then Comes Malaria by Eve Brown Waite What’s better than a funny travelogue?!  I actually just recently found this book and it looks so good and hilarious that I may just bump it up on my TBR list!

First Comes Love, Then Comes Malaria: How a Peace Corps Poster Boy Won My Heart and a Third World Adventure Changed My Life

Babylon’s Ark by Lawrence Anthony – I know this book is going to bring me to tears, but honestly, I don’t care.  This book looks so amazing that I just have to read it!  Plus, there are some other books by Lawrence Anthony that I have found which I want to read, so I think I’ll read this one first, and then read his others.

 Babylon's Ark: The Incredible Wartime Rescue of the Baghdad Zoo

The Year of Living Biblically by A.J. Jacobs – This book looks laugh out funny, but also very informative as the author tries to follow the Bible as literal as possible.  Maybe I’ll read this book after I read Babylon’s Ark so I can get some humor in!

The Devil’s Teeth by Susan Casey – This book looks downright scary yet intriguing as I read about the author’s obsession with Great White Sharks.  I myself, have a fear of sharks but I have always been intrigued by them and how people would want to be even in close proximity with them.  This book could either turn my fear into a positive, or make me even more afraid of those monster-looking-big-ass fish!

The Devil's Teeth: A True Story of Obsession and Survival Among America's Great White Sharks

Murder on the Orient Express by Agatha Christie – OK, OK, I’ll indulge in a little fiction.  I have been wanting to read this books for a while now, but have not gotten around to it.  I’m hoping to end my winter TBR list with Ms. Christie,  one of my favorite, and only, mystery authors!

Murder on the Orient Express

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Don’t worry, it’s not surprising to see only one fiction book on my reading list.  I’m a huge non-fiction fan and read fiction only when the book captivates me from the beginning.

So, this is my winter to-be-read list.  It’s actually much longer than this, and will probably last until next winter!

What books are on your TBR list?

🙂

About Palm Trees & Bare Feet

Travel. Animals. Writing. Photography. Books. Movies. Art. Creating. Dreaming. Thinking. Exploring. Adventure. Living.

15 responses »

  1. The shark book looks fascinating. I think I’ll have to check that one out. Thanks.

    Reply
  2. Reading your list makes me wish I read more nonfiction. I read it from time to time and usually LOVE it, just lately it’s been nothing but fiction. The Year Of Living Biblically and Born Free look right up my alley! Happy reading 😀

    Reply
  3. ‘The Year of Living Biblically’ is really funny and very insightful at the same time. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

    Reply
  4. This list just makes me want to do more reading. I have heard good things about that AJ Jacobs book — looking forward hearing your thoughts on it!

    Reply
  5. Great list.

    Reply
  6. I read Three Cups of Tea a couple of years ago and really enjoyed it – I’d never heard that it was partly fabricated though. It certainly didn’t read so. Is it true? If so, that really bums me out. I’m a bit anti-James Frey partly because he made it up (he should have just said it was fiction then he wouldn’t be in the poo), and I hate hearing about authors who lie like that. Oh I feel really bummed now.

    I’ve heard of Jane Goodall but I’ve never come across her books before. Is she a good writer? Thanks for visiting me!

    Reply
  7. Great list. I’m definitely going to bookmark the Jane Goodall books. I remember seeing Born Free on tv and seeing something about the rescue of the Bagdhad zoo but I’ve never read the books. Maybe once I’m done with the Civil war 😉

    Reply
  8. Thanks for stopping by! My husband would probably love much of this list! He is my foil in life, so he reads mostly nonfiction of the sociological and travelogue varieties. I will have to check with him to see if there are any listed here that he hasn’t read yet. Thanks for the list!

    Reply
  9. You have a great and varied list of reads. Hope you find time to read them this winter. When you are writing yourself, it’s hard to find time.

    Here’s my Post

    Reply
  10. I’ve always wanted to read a Jane Goodal book but I’ve never gotten round to it. I might try to check one out soon now that you’ve reminded me!

    Also, the book about sharks looks really interesting. I find sharks fascinating, but I don’t think I’m about to go swimming too close to them!

    Reply
  11. Interesting choices! My friend read and really likes Three Cups of Tea. Hope you enjoy it as well!

    Reply

Comments Welcome!

