RSS Feed

Booking Through Thursday: Mood Reading


Booking Through Thursday by Booking Through Thursday

btt button

Q:

Do you find that your mood affects the things you read? Like, if you’re in a bad mood, do you tend to indulge in reading that will support it or do you try to read things that will cheer you up? Do you pick different types of books on dreary, rainy days than you do on bright sunny ones?

For that matter, does your mood color what you’re reading, so that a funny book isn’t so funny or a serious one not so deep?

A:

Actually, if I am in a bad, sad or pissy mood, I don’t want to read.  I know that should be a time when I should dive head first into a book and block my troubles out, but during those mood swings, my brain will not concentrate on anything but my problems and troubles.  So there has been times when I try to read a book to take my mind off of everything, and the next thing I know I’m 20 pages in and literally have no clue what I just read.  I space out, it’s normal.

I do love reading curled up with a hot tea on those cold, rainy days.  During those days, my mind is fully immersed in whatever book I’m reading, so I do try to choose a book that I will enjoy and one which has been on my TBR list for a while.  These are the days when I get some hardcore reading done!

And actually, if I’m in a happy, giggly, go-lucky mood, where everything is funny, a funny book is more likely to be 10X funnier for me.  If I’m in a depressed, I-hate-my-life mood, 10X more tears will be shed if I’m reading a sad book.  And if I’m very pensive that day, a serious or deep book will have me in deep thought even more.  So pretty much, if I read a book which matches my mood, my reaction to that book will be tenfold what it normally would be.


About Palm Trees & Bare Feet

Travel. Animals. Writing. Photography. Books. Movies. Art. Creating. Dreaming. Thinking. Exploring. Adventure. Living.

9 responses »

  1. I can appreciate the inability to concentrate on a book due to external influences. I think that’s why my reading tends to be so very light these days.

    Reply
  2. It sounds like reading intensifies your moods, which does happen to me sometimes, too. But reading for escape requires a certain kind of book for me.

    Here’s MY BTT POST and
    MY WEBSITE

    Reply
  3. I love curling up with a book and cup of tea on a rainy day, especially if I can sit where I can hear the rain while being all snuggled up.

    My BTT post is here and I’m also holding a giveaway here 🙂

    Reply
  4. Great answer. I agree that when I am in a terrible mood I cannot concentrate on a book. It sucks! Literature should be a nice escape from real life troubles.

    Heres my answer
    http://eatupmyfreetime.wordpress.com/2011/12/01/mood-reading/

    Reply
  5. I’m a very moody reader. Sometimes when I’m upset or in a bad mood, I don’t feel like reading at all.

    Reply
  6. I’ve never really noticed mood affecting my reading…
    Here’s my Booking Through Thursday post. 🙂

    Reply
  7. Hello! Thanks for visiting my blog!

    Yes sometimes that happens to me too. I don’t feel like reading anything if I am too depressed.

    Reply

Comments Welcome!

