RSS Feed

Here Comes Santa Claus


Christmas is 3 weeks and 2 days away.

It’s a time of giving, joy, celebrating with family and friends, decorating the Christmas tree, admiring the festive lights, and yes, Santa Claus.

Here in Spain, Santa became mainstream only recently while for years, and still now, it is the three Kings whom give the children their presents on the 6th of January (the 25th of December is the celebration of Jesus’ birth).

As an American, and a true believer in Santa Claus for my entire childhood, the thought of three Wise Men putting presents underneath the tree is quite absurd.  I mean, how do they get there?  Where are their flying reindeer?  Where do they live the rest of the year?  What is their equivalent of the North Pole?

Yes, a red-cheeked fat man coming down the chimney is loco in it’s own way, and to each culture its own, but I’m a fan of good ol’ Santa Claus.

I love the spirit of Christmas mainly because of Santa.  Ever seen Polar Express?  If not, you must.  Santa, for me, is not just some jolly never-dying guy who brings presents.  Santa represents the magical time of the holidays, the constant joy this time of year that seems to elude us during the other months, and the reminder that it is OK to believe.

This is the reason why I love Santa Claus, even at the age of 21.  In my personal opinion, I feel that every child should experience the magic of Santa, his reindeer and the North Pole.  My parents never actually told us that Santa did not exist.  As my sister and I got older, we just simply grew out of believing that he was a literal being – and of course we heard the non-existence of our favorite man from mean school bullies – and knew that those presents under the tree, even the ones which still said “From Santa” were actually from our loving parents.  

However, the magic and believing in the spirit of Christmas never left us, and still to this day, Santa equals magic for me.  Which is why I believe that children should never be told that there is no Santa.  

What is so wrong with letting them believe this one little thing while the rest of their world turns into constant stress, money, and worries?  If I ever met a grown man/woman whom still believed in Santa, I would never laugh, taunt or tease them.  No, I would bow down to them, maybe even propose, because in the sad, greedy world we live in, what’s the matter with believing in just a little magic and spirit?

All of the above got me thinking once I saw an article on the Huffington Post about a news anchor, who live on the air with children watching, said that there was no Santa Claus.

Watch it here:

Quite sad, isn’t it?  People were quite pissed at her comment and of course, I agree!  It is the parent’s job to tell their children about Santa, not someone who bluntly says, on the news, that “there is no Santa”.

So, what are your takes on all of this?  Do you think children need to know the “truth” about Santa at a certain age, or is it OK to let the children grow out of it on their own?  If you have kids, what age, if yet, did you explain to them about Santa?

Love to hear your thoughts!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

*Note: The images were taken from Google Images.  The video was taken from Youtube, its © belongs to NewsTsar’s Channel and FOX News.  However, the words, thoughts and opinions are my own: © Kalie Lyn, 2011.*

About Palm Trees & Bare Feet

Travel. Animals. Writing. Photography. Books. Movies. Art. Creating. Dreaming. Thinking. Exploring. Adventure. Living.

12 responses »

  1. I love Santa, the idea of Santa and loved it as a kid. We DO NOT tell the little ones in the family there is no Santa, EVER. That comes from their playmates. :/ Santa is magical.

    I don’t have a problem with Spain’s three wise men tho either, they were the ones bearing gifts to Jesus, it makes sense. 🙂

    Reply
    • It does make sense about the Wise Men. It’s quite cute seeing the kids here get all excited for their presents from the Three Kings.

      And Yay! I’m so glad you feel that way. Yes, the magic should never die. It’s that one time of year, even when the rest of the year was a stress ball, when children and parents can forget about their hectic life for a month, and maybe believe again.

      Thanks for your comment and I’m glad your children will always be able to have that magic they so need! 🙂

      Reply
      • I DO feel that way! I just can’t imagine not having that magic as a kid. How awful. Adulthood comes soon enough with all its “trials and tribulations”, magic doesn’t last long at all.

        I had no idea about the Three Kings until you mentioned it here. I like that! It is fun to learn about other places and how they celebrate, or even just live their daily lives.

      • Agreed. Every child needs that magic as a kid and children just need to be children.

        And I know, I was interested in the 3 Kings too when my boyfriend told me they were what he anticipated as a child! It is fun to learn about different culture’s traditions! 🙂

  2. What a jerk. I found out early in life and I was devastated.

    Reply
  3. I think most kids get to an age were they know santa isnt real but maybe they want the magic of christmas for just another year so they hold off questioning their parents about him. I definitely think a child should be told at a certain age, i know so many people who found out from friends and felt silly because they had argues he was real and the they find out they were wrong. Its difficult however to say everyone should be told when there for example 10, its probably best to determine when is the right time by looking at your kids peers and seeing how they react to the idea of santa, My brother was 7 when he found out, he had just discovered the tooth fairy was not real and was really annoyed and said ‘well i suppose your going to tell me now santas not real either!’

    Great post! 🙂

    Reply
    • I completely agree that if parents feel they need to tell their kids about Santa, or if the kids start questioning, then the parents should tell their children. I also don’t think there should be a specific age to tell them, and like you said, it should all depend on the maturity and peers of the child. Thanks for your comment Daisy! 🙂

      Reply
  4. Pingback: The Most Wonderful Time of the Year! | Palm Trees & Bare Feet

Comments Welcome!

