RSS Feed

Booking Through Thursday: Characters vs. Plots


Booking Through Thursday by Booking Through Thursday

btt button

Q:

What’s more important to you? Real, three-dimensional, fleshed-out fascinating characters? Or an amazing, page-turning plot?

(Yes, I know, they are both important. But if you had to pick one as being more important than the other?)


A:

This is a hard question.

Both are extremely important for a well-written and enjoyable book, however if I had to choose just one, I would rather have an amazing page-turning plot.

For me, even with the best, three-dimensional, realistic characters, by the end of the story I start getting sick of them.  I don’t care how planned out, how constructed and believable they are, sometimes I will stop reading a book because I want to reach my hands inside the book’s pages and strangle the neck of the character for whatever reason.

With a page-turning plot, that never happens.  I don’t think I have ever complained about a good plot, a good climax; though I have complained about a good character and their idiotic actions.  A plot is what makes us keep reading, keep coming back for more, and without that, there would be no book.

So hands down, an amazing plot is more important than a fascinating character.


About Palm Trees & Bare Feet

Travel. Animals. Writing. Photography. Books. Movies. Art. Creating. Dreaming. Thinking. Exploring. Adventure. Living.

4 responses »

  1. Great answer, i think I’m going the opposite way but you have valid points there. Thanks for sharing. Here’s my BTT

    Reply
  2. I’ve tried to think of a book with really well-written characters but a lousy plot. I can’t really remember one.

    Reply

Comments Welcome!

