RSS Feed

Musing Monday: Book Recommendations


Musing Mondays by Should Be Reading

Q:

What’s one book you always recommend to just about anyone?


A:

I recommend them by genre.

If someone is looking for humor, I recommend At Least in the City Someone Would Hear Me Scream by Wade Rouse.  This book is so hilariously funny that it is literally impossible not to laugh out loud while reading it!

If someone is looking for travel, I recommend either Tales of a Female Nomad by Rita Golden Gelman or The Geography of Bliss by Eric Weiner.  Both are very good travel narratives, though different.

If someone is looking for a true animal story, I recommend Unlikely Friendships by Jennifer Holland.  The pictures alone are worth the read.

If someone is looking for a good fiction read, I recommend a few: The Art of Racing in the Rain by Garth Stein – an absolute beautiful read; The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini – everyone who reads this book loves it; and Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen – love, love, LOVE this book, though I will never see the movie because the book is so damn good!

These are just a few of my normal recommendations.  I have many more, however at the moment, these are the ones that come to the mind.

About Palm Trees & Bare Feet

Travel. Animals. Writing. Photography. Books. Movies. Art. Creating. Dreaming. Thinking. Exploring. Adventure. Living.

8 responses »

  1. Although I have many favourite books, there are three series that I recommend above all else because they are some of the best literature I have ever read, and they are each different:

    1. The Outlander series by Diana Gabaldon
    2. Pillars of the Earth and World Without End by Ken Follett
    3. A Song of Ice and Fire series by George R.R. Martin

    Reply
  2. not one there I have read. I better get to work!

    Reply
  3. If I had to pick just one, ONLY one….it would have to be Gabriel García Márquez’s Love in the Time of Cholera. It’s one of those books where I wanted to just lick the words from the pages….and no, I won’t see the film. There’s absolutely no need to.

    Reply
  4. That is a really good list. Good for you, I only listed one

    Reply
  5. Wow I’ve only read one of these, The Kite Runner. Now I have to add more to my list 🙂

    Reply

Comments Welcome!

