RSS Feed

Tick-Tock Goes the Clock


In Communications class we’re learning about Psychological Time Orientation, which is the way we habitually think about and experience time.

There are 7 different time perspective categories that people fall into:

– Present Hedonism Orientation: People who fall into this category focus on the present and live for the moment.  They are impulsive sensation seekers and enjoy going to parties.

Present Fatalism Orientation: People who fall into this category also focus on the present, however they feel there is no control over their fate.  They believe it doesn’t make sense to plan because events will occur no matter what they do to prevent it.

Future Work-Motivation Orientation: People who fall into this category focus on the future and believe in working hard, and that it is their duty to work.

Future Goal-Seeking Orientation: People who fall into this category also focus on the future and look to the future in a positive way.  They enjoy thinking about what will happen to them, and they spend their time imagining the successes of the future.

Future Pragmatic-Action Orientation: People who fall into this category focus on the future too, however in a practical and prepared way.  They believe that the future is something to be prepared for in the present.

Future Daily Planning Orientation: People who fall into this category also focus on the future by controlling day-to-day events.  They believe in mapping out their lives in specific detail.

Time-Sensitivity Orientation: Lastly, people who fall into this category feel anxious and pressured by time obligations.  They are somewhat compulsive about both their own and others’ punctuality.

Oddly, there is no past orientations because they are so infrequent.  However, I have been known to dwell and focus on the past, but I guess it isn’t a valid time orientation category!

I listed these for you because I was curious as to what time categories others fall into.

I know for me, I fall into multiple categories.  Mostly, I fall into the Future Goal-Seeking Orientation, and into the Future Pragmatic-Action Orientation.  And of course, I sometimes will fall into the Time-Sensitivity Orientation, especially when I have important appointments and schedules to keep to!  The one I least fall into is the Future Work-Motivation Orientation.  I definitely do not believe in living to work!

What about you?  What time categories do you fall into the most, and which ones do you not fall into?  Please, let us know in the comment section below!

Happy Sunday All!

🙂

About Palm Trees & Bare Feet

Travel. Animals. Writing. Photography. Books. Movies. Art. Creating. Dreaming. Thinking. Exploring. Adventure. Living.

4 responses »

  1. Well now I’m really curious as to why there aren’t any past based orientations, lol, as I think my past plays such a big role in how I approach both my present and future. Hmmmm. But if I had to chose, I think I fluxuate between Present Hedonism and Present Fatalism. This was the first something new I learned today. Thanks!

    Reply
  2. Too hard to figure out. I’ll think about it tomorrow. Hey, is that a category? HF

    Reply

Comments Welcome!

