RSS Feed

Booking Through Thursday: Book Blogs


Booking Through Thursday by Booking Through Thursday

btt button

Q:

What do you look for when reading a book blog? Does the blogger have to read the same genre? Do you like reviews? Personal posts? Memes? Giveaways? What attracts you to a book blog?

A:

It’s hard for me to find a book blog that I follow regularly.  There are very few I really like since most of them focus around science-fiction, fantasy, paranormal, and Twilight-kind of books.  I’m more of a non-fiction reader, and still have yet to find a really good non-fiction based book blog.  If you know of any, let me know!

I also like book blogs that have memes – like Booking Through Thursday, of course! – and ones with good reviews.

About Palm Trees & Bare Feet

Travel. Animals. Writing. Photography. Books. Movies. Art. Creating. Dreaming. Thinking. Exploring. Adventure. Living.

3 responses »

  1. Here is a good non-fiction book blogger I follow: http://www.sophisticateddorkiness.com/
    There’s also: http://brevity.wordpress.com/category/nonfiction-books/
    and Maphead’s Book Blog, and Mental Foodie,
    among many others I’m sure.
    I myself review lots of non-fiction, you just need to click on the non-fiction categories in my right menu to access those.

    What do you look for when reading a book blog?
    = I look for enthusiastic reviews, ideas for new books for me, and also for books I have reviewed myself, to compare our reviews.

    Does the blogger have to read the same genre?
    = no, and reading other bloggers has opened me to genres and formats I was very originally very reluctant to, graphic novels for instance

    Do you like reviews?
    = I LOVE reviews! I follow a lot of bloggers through google reader, and this is the first thing I check online daily after my email
    What I REALLY like, is when a comment by one of my readers or by myself opens up on a very interesting conversation. It makes blogging such an experiencing experience. The most recent example for me is what a blogger answered to my question about: is there a Dickens in our time?

    Personal posts?
    = if it’s just about the life of the blogger, I really don’t care, unless there are gorgeous pictures of places, birds, nature

    Memes?
    = I wish I had more time for those…
    I do the Friday finds from time to time, my own version is called Good books for your week-end.
    = and I have my own meme: I love France! I’m not faithful at posting for it weekly, but I encourage other bloggers to link their own reviews to it, and there’s a growing interesting list of posts

    Giveaways?
    = yes, it’s always fun to get a free book to offer to friends

    What attracts you to a book blog?
    = well written, diversity of genres, easiness of reading: I mean, some bloggers post in light blue ink, unreadable on ipod or even on computer, so I stop following those. I also prefer if there’s a picture, if it’s not a heavy mass of ink, but with some spaces between paragraphs.
    I realize as I write this that it’s very important for me.
    and that’s what prompted me to insert in my own reviews not only the book cover, abut also a picture of the author, when available.
    well, I guess that’s it for today!! lol

    Reply

Comments Welcome!

