RSS Feed

Top Ten Tuesday: Book Covers


Top Ten by The Broke and the Bookish

Top 10 Favorite Book Covers:

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I know the list is supposed to contain 2012 covers, but I’m going to include my favorite covers from all years.  These are in no particular order, but here they are.  Enjoy!  🙂

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

No Touch Monkey by Ayun Halliday – Come on, how could you not love this cover?!  I mean just look at it!  The main reason why I bought this book was because of the cover, and I’m so glad I did because the book exceeded my expectations.  Check out my review of this book here.

No Touch Monkey!: And Other Travel Lessons Learned Too Late

The Art of Racing in the Rain by Garth Stein – I am extremely biased with this book because it’s one of my favorites.  But I do love the simple cover and if you read it, then you will understand how powerful this cover truly is.

The Art of Racing in the Rain

Life of Pi by Yann Martel – I could literally stare at this cover for hours.  It provokes such wonderment and imagination, and trust me this is just not another “pretty cover” because the book is absolutely AMAZING.

Life of Pi

Unlikely Friendships by Jennifer S. Holland – Awww…just Awww! Do I need to say more?!  Check out my review of this book here.

Unlikely Friendships: 47 Remarkable Stories from the Animal Kingdom

Modoc by Ralph Helfer – This cover brings tears to my eyes.  I remember staring at this cover after I finished the book and the words I had just finished reading came flooding back in my mind.  The cover isn’t even half as good as the book, but it’s definitely one of my favorite book art.

Modoc: The True Story of the Greatest Elephant That Ever Lived

Running with Scissors by Augusten Burroughs Such a great book, and such a great cover.  I just love it.  It really captures the words that are on the pages.

Running With Scissors

Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen – Anyone who has read this book knows how amazing this cover is in person.  It’s such a great design that it instantly attracts you into reading the book.

Water for Elephants

Tales of a Female Nomad by Rita Golden Gelman – I remember stroking this cover when I first picked this book up, waiting desperately to read it.  This cover is so cool.  Screw Eat, Pray, Love, this book deserved its own movie.

Tales of a Female Nomad: Living at Large in the World

The Devil’s Teeth by Susan Casey – I asked my mom to get me this book for Christmas based on the cover alone.  It’s scary as hell, but also extremely intriguing.  The book was great, but I think the cover is just a tad bit better.  Check out my review of this here.

The Devil's Teeth: A True Story of Obsession and Survival Among America's Great White Sharks

Moby-Duck by Donovan Hohn – I haven’t read this book yet, but it’s definitely on my TBR list.  And it’s on there for the most part because of the cover.  It’s so cool, isn’t it?!  Can’t wait to see if the book lives up to the cover.

Moby-Duck: The True Story of 28,800 Bath Toys Lost at Sea and of the Beachcombers, Oceanographers, Environmentalists, and Fools, Including the Author, Who Went in Search of Them

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The cover art are sometimes my favorite part of the book, and it really is something that draws you into the book.

So this is my list, and hope all of you have a Happy Tuesday!

What are your Top 10 favorite book covers?

🙂

About Palm Trees & Bare Feet

Travel. Animals. Writing. Photography. Books. Movies. Art. Creating. Dreaming. Thinking. Exploring. Adventure. Living.

9 responses »

  1. Love the last one! I used to work with a gal who had a huge collection of rubber duckies. In fact, the Rubber Duckie song was her wedding song…that’s a series addiction.

    Reply
  2. visiting from TTT post! Very cute covers and yes that last one is the cutest.

    BTW – Love the blogs name!!!

    Yara @ Once Upon a Twilight!

    http://www.onceuponatwilight.com/2012/03/top-ten-tuesday-3612-top-ten-greenest.html

    Reply
  3. Moby-Duck is great! I will have to read the book. Thank you. HF

    Reply
  4. I’ve only read Life of Pi and Water for Elephants on your list. That’s my favourite cover of all the editions of Water for Elephants, I think. I love these covers! And the books sound great too. I especially love Modoc, and I’m intrigued (and scared!) by The Devil’s Teeth! I think I’ve head of the rubber ducky book, maybe on the radio one time. Great list! (It was supposed to be of 2012 covers? I think we could narrow it down any way we liked so I just picked ones off my shelves at random!)

    Here’s my list.

    Reply
  5. I love how most of your covers feature animals – I love the Modoc one, it totally makes me want to pick it up!

    Reply
  6. great list, i really want to read life of pi, but TOO MANY BOOKS! eventually…

    Reply
  7. The cover of Moby Duck is so cheerful, I love it!

    Reply
  8. Great picks! The last one made me laugh. Thanks for sharing!
    My List

    Reply

Comments Welcome!

