RSS Feed

Daily Question: Never Leaving Neverland


Daily Question by Thought Questions

A:

Honestly, at the age of 22, I still don’t even feel like an adult.

Yes, the majority of the time I think like one, mostly due to the fact that I have to and I encounter “adult problems” on a daily basis – I’m talking loans, rent, worrying how much to spend on groceries, etc. – however, I don’t necessarily act like an adult.

I would rather play hide-and-seek with my (also “adult”) sister, cousin, and neighbors, than sit around talking about work, kids, and school.  I would rather stay up all night and sleep all day than vice-versa.  I would rather believe that the fantasy job I dreamed of as a child will come true, rather than coming to terms with the fact that I will be stuck doing something I don’t like.  And finally, I would rather be told I am “acting like a child”, rather than told I am “acting like an adult”.

So, I guess I haven’t become an adult to my own definition yet.  I am an adult to society, but when it comes to me, I will be a girl version of Peter Pan forever!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

At what age did you become an adult?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

*Don’t forget to leave a link of your own answers to the daily question in the comments section below!  The photo was taken from thoughtquestions.com.*

About Palm Trees & Bare Feet

Travel. Animals. Writing. Photography. Books. Movies. Art. Creating. Dreaming. Thinking. Exploring. Adventure. Living.

3 responses »

  1. I became an adult when I started saying no to people instead of going along just to get along. I didn’t want to get stuck doing something as a career I didn’t like either. I refused to conform to traditional caretaker/nurturing female roles and decided to start my own business instead of being a teacher or nurse. .

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Peter the Pied Piper and the Dark Side of Neverland | M. Giroux Stories

Comments Welcome!

